Bihar Meeting Election 2020 is the most important polling train amid the Covid pandemic (Representational)

New Delhi:
The primary part of the Bihar Meeting election will likely be held at the moment, with 2.14 crore voters heading to polling cubicles throughout 71 constituencies to determine the destiny of 1,066 candidates. That is the primary main election to be held wherever on the planet amid the Covid pandemic – at the least till the USA holds its presidential election on November 3. A number of measures have been put in place by the Election Fee to forestall additional unfold of the coronavirus, together with staggered voting hours and a postal poll facility. This election will see Nitish Kumar and his JDU, who’re backed by the BJP, combat for a fifth consecutive time period. Difficult him will likely be a mahagathbandan led by the RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav and Congress. Chirag Paswan’s LJP, an ally of the BJP on the centre, is within the combine as an impartial occasion – which led to hypothesis of a tacit take care of the BJP.

Listed below are 10 huge factors concerning the first part of the 2020 Bihar Meeting election:

  1. The Bihar Meeting election will likely be held over three phases – on October 28, November Three and November 7. Outcomes will likely be declared on November 10. Within the first part, voting will happen for 71 seats, a lot of that are within the state’s Naxal belt. The second part will cowl 94 seats and the ultimate part 78 seats. Total, greater than 7.Three crore folks will vote to fill 243 seats of the Meeting.

  2. Pointers issued by the Election Fee for protected conduct of polls in the course of the coronavirus pandemic embrace staggering of polling hours and a postal poll facility for these aged above 80 or suspected to be carrying the virus. Voting hours have additionally been prolonged and separate cubicles will likely be arrange for these contaminated or believed to be contaminated.

  3. As well as, all EVMs will likely be regularly sanitised and all personnel at polling cubicles will put on face masks and different protecting gear always. All voters may also need to put on face masks and be screened by thermal scanners. Round seven lakh items of hand sanitizers, 46 lakh masks, six lakh PPE kits, 6.7 lakh face shields and 23 lakh pairs of gloves have been made accessible.

  4. The ballot physique has additionally restricted the utmost variety of voters allowed at a polling station – all the way down to 1,000 from 1,500. This has led to a rise within the variety of polling stations – from 65,367 in 2015 polls to over 1.6 lakh on this election.

  5. Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s JDU will contest 35 seats within the first part. The BJP has fielded candidates in 29, with seven seats going to smaller allies. The RJD will combat 42 seats and the Congress 20. Mr Paswan’s LJP will combat solely 41 seats however these embrace the 35 being contested by the JDU. Within the 2015 elections the RJD received 27 of 71 seats that polled within the first part. The JDU received 18, the BJP 13 and the Congress solely 9.

  6. Of the whole of 1,066 candidates contesting the primary part, 952 are males. The utmost variety of candidates for a single seat is in Gaya City, the place 27 individuals are on the poll. The minimal is in Banka district’s Katoria, the place solely 5 individuals are operating.

  7. Outstanding candidates within the first part embrace Shreyasi Singh, the Commonwealth Video games gold medalist who joined the BJP earlier this month. She is contesting the Naxal-dominated Jamui seat, the place she is pitted towards the RJD’s Vijay Prakash, the incumbent.

  8. Former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi, who stop the JDU in 2015 after being compelled to make approach for Nitish Kumar, will combat from the reserved Imamganj seat in Gaya district. Mr Manjhi and his Hindustan Awam Morcha (HAM) stop the opposition alliance in August and, days later, joined the NDA. He’ll look to defend Imamganj from four-time winner Uday Narayan Chaudhary, who left the JDU to hitch the RJD and the opposition alliance.

  9. An attention-grabbing three-way combat for the Sasaram seat is on the playing cards, with the incumbent – the RJD’s Ashok Kumar preventing on a JDU ticket. He’s up towards veteran chief Rameshwar Chaurasiya, who stop the BJP to hitch Chirag Paswan’s LJP. The RJD has fielded Rajesh Kumar Gupta.

  10. Different key faces in motion in the course of the first part are six members of the state cupboard – Prem Kumar (Gaya City), Vijay Kumar Sinha (Lakhisarai), Ram Narayan Mandal (Banka), Krishnanandan Prasad Verma (Jehanabad), Jaikumar Singh (Dinara) and Santosh Kumar Nirala (Rajpur). Of those Mr Verma, Mr Singh and Mr Nirala are JDU whereas the remainder are BJP.

With enter from PTI

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here