Asia Cup: BCCI declares Indian squad, Jasprit Bumrah, Harshal Patel miss cut; Know details

By | August 8, 2022

Asia Cup
Image Source : BCCI Team India huddle

BCCI has announced the Indian squad for the upcoming Asia Cup which will be held in UAE.

While KL Rahul is set to make a comeback after a recovering from injury, Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel have been ruled out.

The right-handed batsman Rahul was all set to lead India against South Africa in the five-match T20I home series but unfortunately missed out as he had problems with his groin after IPL 2022. He also missed the recently concluded India vs West Indies series. 

On the other hand, Bumrah and Patel are currently undergoing rehab at the NCA in Bengaluru, according to BCCI’s tweet.


Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar have been named as standbys.

India full squad:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Y Chahal, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Asia Cup 2022 will take place from the 27th of August to the 11th of September.

Team India will take on Pakistan in the A Group opening match in Dubai on 28th August.

Also read: Here’s entire schedule for Asia Cup, know date, time, venue and other details

Earlier, the Asia Cup was scheduled to be played in Sri Lanka. However, amidst the political unrest in the country, the Asia Cup was shifted from the island nation to UAE. Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) had informed the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) that the board will not be in a position to host the upcoming edition of the Asia Cup.

Latest Cricket News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.