Former union minister Dilip Ray was at present sentenced to 3 12 months imprisonment over his position within the alleged irregularities within the allocation of a Jharkhand coal block in 1999.

In addition to Dilip Ray, the Particular CBI courtroom additionally handed three years’ jail to 2 particular person who have been additionally convicted lately for his or her position within the case.

Dilip Ray, former Minister of State (coal) within the Atal Bihari Vajpayee authorities, was convicted earlier this month for prison conspiracy and different offences by a particular courtroom in Delhi listening to the case.

On October 14, after listening to arguments from the CBI as nicely the convicts, Particular Choose Bharat Parashar had reserved the order for at present (October 26).

In the course of the listening to, the CBI had sought life imprisonment for the previous Union minister and different convicts within the case, arguing that white collar crimes are on the rise and most punishment was required to ship a message to the society.

The CBI, represented by public prosecutors V Ok Sharma and A P Singh, had additionally sought life sentence for two senior officers of the Ministry of Coal at the moment, Pradip Kumar Banerjee and Nitya Nand Gautam, and Castron Applied sciences Ltd””s (CTL) director Mahendra Kumar Agarwalla.

The convicted individuals had urged the courtroom to take a lenient view contemplating their outdated age and that they’ve by no means been convicted earlier.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here